Nominating Committee Conference Call

2:05 p.m. to 2:26 p.m. - Thursday, November 1, 2007

Charles Moser, chairman Buddy King John M. Roberts Ray Stafford Wes Turner Ken Whalen (Darla Thompson secretary)

Charles announced that the chairman of the executive committee typically chairs this nominating committee, but Jeremy Halbreich is out of the country this week.

Charles explained that the order of the day is to:

- nominate current board member Belinda Gaudet, who has been on the board for two years, to a one-year term so that she serves a full three years on the board
- o name three new board members for three-year terms
- o find one alternate in case any of the nominees declines

Committee members brought up the following names, discussing newspaper ownership (particularly Belo and Southern), circulation size (20-35,000 people needed, but Glenn McCutchen just announced his retirement), geographic areas and involvement in TDNA:

Patrick Canty, Joe San Miguel, Mike Graxiola, Tyler Patton, Dan Cavazos, Kay Helms, Bill Patterson, Tom Stephenson, Mike Vivio, Mike Thornberry

Nominees:

<u> 1 year – Belinda Gaudet</u>

motion – Buddy King 2^{nd} – Wes Turner

<u> 3 years – Bill Patterson</u>

motion – Wes Turner 2nd – John Roberts

3 years - Joe San Miguel or Mike Graxiola (Lissa Vahldiek to make the choice)

 $\begin{array}{l} motion-Buddy \ King \\ 2^{nd}-Wes \ Turner \end{array}$

<u>3 years – Patrick Canty</u> motion – Ray Stafford

 2^{nd} – Buddy King

<u>alternate – Mike Thornberry</u> motion – Wes Turner 2nd – John Roberts