## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Midland High School Bulldogs enjoyed an 2 outstanding season in 2010, playing some of the best football in the 3 school's long history; and
- WHEREAS, Before the year began, not many expected the Bulldogs to be serious contenders for the state playoffs, but under
- 6 the outstanding leadership of head coach Craig Yenzer, they won
- 7 their first seven games and went 4-1 in district play to finish in a
- 8 three-way tie for the District 3-5A title, their first since 1988;
- 9 the team's only regular season loss came at the hands of Abilene
- 10 High, the defending Class 5A Division II state champion; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Midland's memorable season opened with tough
- 12 defensive showings against Amarillo and El Paso Del Valle, which
- 13 resulted in 20-6 and 21-13 victories; the team then began a streak
- 14 of five straight games in which it scored at least 40 points,
- 15 including especially productive outings in back-to-back games
- 16 against Lubbock Coronado and Lubbock Monterey; against Coronado,
- 17 Tyler Middleton set the school single-game record by scoring six
- 18 touchdowns, and he crossed the goal line five more times against
- 19 Monterey; Mr. Middleton would eventually set the single-season
- 20 school record by tallying a total of 33 touchdowns; and
- 21 WHEREAS, After their hard-fought loss to Abilene, the
- 22 Bulldogs got back to their winning ways by storming to a 29-0
- 23 halftime lead against Lee High School and then fighting off a
- 24 determined comeback by the Rebels to notch a 43-36 victory; in the

H.C.R. No. 26

regular season finale, Midland came up against the high-scoring and 1 undefeated team from Abilene Cooper; the Dawgs rolled up 383 yards 2 3 in rushing, more than half of which were gained by Mr. Middleton, 4 who also scored four touchdowns, including the tiebreaker with less 5 than four minutes remaining in the game; this dramatic 42-35 6 victory allowed Midland to clinch a share of the district title; and 7 WHEREAS, The first round of the playoffs produced another 8 unforgettable contest; the Bulldogs were trailing by nine heading 9 into the final quarter only to explode for 20 points and eliminate 10 Arlington Bowie by a score of 39-35; Midland's defense was back to 11 the fore in the second playoff game as the team soundly defeated El 12 Paso El Dorado 31-7; in the ensuing regional round of the playoffs, 13 the Bulldogs suffered only their second defeat of the season, being 14 beaten by Coppell High, the fifth-ranked team in the state; and 15 WHEREAS, The 2010 Midland High team finished with an .846 16 winning percentage, the third best in school history, trailing only 17 the 1938 and 1939 teams that both went 9-1; the success of the 2010 18 squad was keyed by a deep roster filled with talented players; Mr. 19 Middleton's record-breaking season would not have been possible 20 without the help of the offensive line, where Mike Leonard, Jared 21 Mosely, Ross Montgomery, Zach Byers, Tim Nwangwu, and Turner Ingle 22 all performed yeoman work in the trenches; quarterbacks Jake Holifield and Kierre Woods provided excellent on-field leadership, 23 24 and running back Jacoby Webster and wide receiver Michael 25 Christiani also contributed to the offensive firepower; on the 26 defensive side, Blaze Wooten was the first player to rack up 100 27 tackles this season, and he anchored the secondary along with

## H.C.R. No. 26

- 1 Oeasha Shoclet and Colton Edmundson; the defensive line was manned
- 2 by such standouts as Tyler Tatum, Isaac Dearing, Dutton Watson, and
- 3 Christian Vargas, while Ryan Evans made many big plays from his
- 4 middle linebacker position and Donavon Anders was twice named
- 5 special teams player of the week; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Winning with a true team effort, the Bulldogs also
- 7 received valuable contributions from the other members of the
- 8 roster: Tanner Neal, Blair Beck, Jamaal Sanders, Brady Bradshaw,
- 9 Tanner Culp, Chris Babcock, Chase Jones, Brandon Williams, Blake
- 10 Bynum, Erick Callier, Marquise Clater, Andrew Alvarado, Travis
- 11 Bledsoe, Andy Allen, Jesus Ramirez, Cesar Chaveez, Colton Perry,
- 12 Derek Turner, Emilio Cano, Anthony Rubio, Jose Torres, Efrain
- 13 Vasquez, Cesar Santos, Brandon Wright, Patrick Butler, Malcon
- 14 Anders, Clint Hixson, Adrian Ramirez, Jake Taylor, Jeff Cook,
- 15 Garrett Brunson, Quade Huckaba, Kelton Woodard, Ryan Hopkins, Grant
- 16 Canis, Rene Lujan, Keaton Castillo, Josh Sierman, Gabe Estrada,
- 17 Saul Dunn, Henry Gutierrez, Drake Vliem, Tyler Abney, Sam Carrasco,
- 18 Chad Cowdrey, Evan Brunson, John David Bertleson, Jake Forrester,
- 19 Donovan Lee, and Stevie Rhodes; and
- WHEREAS, Head coach Yenzer was ably assisted by offensive
- 21 coordinator Jim Conger, defensive coordinator Shane Fletcher, and
- 22 coaches Chris Moralez, Bobby Alvarez, Cal Neatherlin, Jeff Streun,
- 23 Bryan Sledge, Ector Lopez, Tim Anuskiewicz, Chad Leonard, and Don
- 24 Goode; and
- WHEREAS, These talented and dedicated student-athletes are a
- 26 source of great pride to their many supporters in the local
- 27 community, and their outstanding performance on the gridiron is

H.C.R. No. 26

- l indeed deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 3 hereby congratulate the Midland High School Bulldogs football team
- 4 on its successful 2010 season and extend sincere best wishes to the
- 5 players, coaches, and staff for continued success; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives and Senate.

Craddick

Bard Benhust

President of the Senate

H.C.R. No. 26

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 26 was adopted by the House on January 12, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 26 was adopted by the Senate on

January 12, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_

28 JAN'11

Date

Governor

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE
O'CLOCK

Secretary of State